November 28th, 2011

Okkervil River return to their lo-fi, raw roots with a live recording project of obscure 70′s folk and rock covers – a sequel to 2007′s Golden Opportunities. With just a few short days of preproduction and rehearsals with Danny, the band settled on a group of 5 songs to track AND mix live to 1/4″ tape in one very exhausting and exciting day. Danny recorded and mixed Golden Opportunities 2 (Jagjaguwar) at Premium Recording (assisted by John Michael Landon), on Premium’s lovely Quad 8 console.

Download Golden Opportunities 2:
320 Kbps .mp3
Lossless .M4a

Golden Opportunities 2 Tracklist:
01. It is So Nice to Get Stoned (Ted Lucas)
02. U.F.O. (by Jim Sullivan)
03. One Soul Less On Your Fiery List (David McComb)
04. Plan D (Bill Fay)
05. Dry Bones (American Traditional)

Consequence of Sound:
“beautifully recorded entirely live to two-track tape in one day” (read article here)

Pitchfork article HERE

“Just enough, and never too much of everything” (read article here)